Elementary – Getting Started

We are so excited to be working with you and your children during the next school year! As many of you already know, each learning community at P.K. Yonge is led by seven teachers. There are three teachers and one learning community leader that work with each grade level in a community (K-1, 2-3, 4-5). Information on this page is updated as we get closer to the new school year.

2022-2023 PKY Calendar
For regular updates check your email, the Announcements page,
or the P.K. Yonge Facebook page.

Elementary Contacts
Dr. Ashley Pennypacker Hill | Director of Elementary Services | apennypacker@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Jill Ozog | K-1 Learning Community Leader | jozog@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Dicy Watson | 2-3 Learning Community Leader |dwatson@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Dr. Macy Geiger | 4-5 Learning Community Leader | mgeiger@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Bryce Stevenson | K-5 School Counselor | bstevenson@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Ryan Stewart| Elementary Behavior Coach | rstewart@pky.ufl.edu | 352.392.1554
Rob Cox | Blue Wave After School | bluewaveafterschool@gmail.com | 352.871.3979

Kindergarten Assessments
Kindergarten students are assessed at the beginning of the year to establish a baseline for beginning instruction. Students are also reassessed several times throughout the year to monitor progress. This first assessment takes place during the summer and helps inform the development of class lists that reflect a variety of demographic characteristics and academic achievement levels. Kindergarten families will be notified of their student’s class assignment closer to the beginning of the new school year.

Kindergarten Assessment Dates: Wednesday, July 20 & Thursday, July 21, 2022
Kindergarten Assessment Signup

School Supply Lists
Each year, school supply lists are shared with families in advance of the new school year. Lists are updated each year by June 1 for the coming school year.
Kindergarten & 1st Grade Supplies   |   2nd & 3rd Grade Supplies   |   4th & 5th Grade Supplies

Blue Wave Preview
Each school year, an opportunity for families to become familiar with the learning environment and meet teachers is scheduled prior to the start of school. Details will be shared closer to the time.

First Day of School
Procedures for the first day of the school year for all grades are shared here prior to the start of school. Information linked below is updated each year one week before school starts.
First Day Procedures

Kindergarten Staggered Start | First Week of School
Kindergarteners usually have a staggered start in the early part of the school year. This means that small groups of students are scheduled on different days of the first week.

Families will be informed which day and time their children will attend prior to school beginning. These smaller groups allow for an easier adjustment to school. It’s a big step and we are excited about taking it with you, your children, and your family!

Campus Traffic | IMPORTANT Details
Information regarding campus traffic is provided on the Drop-Off, Pick-Up, Traffic page and is updated over the summer to reflect any changes for the coming school year.

Important Dates: Dates 2022-23 (Dates 2022-23 Coming Soon!)
For regular updates check your email, the Announcements page,
or the P.K. Yonge Facebook page.